skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project


To Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen   8 November 1871

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. [Leith Hill Place, Surrey]

Nov. 8 1871

Dear Sir

I am extremely glad to hear, for your & my own sake, of the success of your Translation.1 I have partly written an essay on Expression, but from ill-health during 2 months, & from largely correcting a new edit. of the “Origin”, the above essay will probably not be sent to press for 6 or 9 months.2 Whenever it is printed I will inform you & shall be pleased if you think it worth translation. But from what you say you will perhaps by that time have started on your voyage to N. America.3 I would strongly advise you to get introductions from those who are personally acquainted with you, as I am sure they would be much the most valuable.—

I know very few persons in the United States, & as I do not know you personally, I can only say that you have translated my work, & have shewn in your correspondence with me much zeal & intelligence.

Believe me I shall be happy to assist you as far as lies in my power, & with every good wish I remain | dear Sir | yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


CD refers to the Dutch translation of Descent (Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen trans. 1871–2). See letter from Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen, 3 November 1871.
CD refers to Expression and Origin 6th ed. Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen had offered to translate Expression. See letter from Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen, 3 November 1871 and n. 3.
Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen was considering emigrating to the United States.


CD glad to hear of success of translation of Descent.

Will not go to press with Expression for six or nine months; hopes HHHvZ will think it worth translating.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8056,” accessed on 22 October 2016,