skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-8013

To J. J. Weir   16 October 1871

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Oct 16th 1871

My dear Sir

I am much obliged for your kind note & invitation.1 I shd. like exceedingly to accept it, but it is impossible.— I have been for some months worse than usual, & can withstand no exertion or excitement of any kind, & in consequence have not been able to see anyone or go anywhere.— As long as I remain quite quiet, I can do some work, & am now preparing a new & cheap Edit. of the Origin in which I shall answer Mr. Mivart’s chief objections.2

Huxley will bring out a splendid review on do. in the Contemporary R. on November 6th.—3

I am pleased that you like Ch. Wrights article.4 It seemed to me very clever for a man who is not a naturalist. He is highly esteemed in the U. States as a Mathematician & sound reasoner.

I wish I could join your party.— | My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Ch Darwin

Footnotes

1
Weir’s letter has not been found.
2
In Origin 6th ed., chapter 7, CD answered the objections of, among others, St George Jackson Mivart in his Genesis of species (Mivart 1871a).
3
CD refers to Thomas Henry Huxley and T. H. Huxley 1871b (in the Contemporary Review).
4
CD refers to Chauncey Wright and presumably to the pamphlet version of Wright’s review of Mivart’s Genesis of species in the North American Review (Wright 1871a and 1871b).

Summary

Cannot accept JJW’s invitation to a party. His health has been worse than usual for some months – can see no one nor can he go anywhere.

Is preparing a cheap edition of the Origin [6th] and will answer Mivart’s objections.

CD is pleased JJW likes C. Wright’s "Darwinism" [see 7940]. Huxley will publish a splendid review of it in Contemporary Review [Nov 1871].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8013
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Weir, J. J.
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1349)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8013,” accessed on 27 July 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8013

letter