skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. J. Moulinié   12 July [1871]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

July 12th

My dear Sir

I thank you cordially for the extremely kind manner in which you say you are willing to introduce some corrections & additions. I think I told you I shd. not print till early in the autumn.2 I will send you clean proofs, as they are printed off.

In present state of France perhaps some delay may be adviseable.— I foresee some difficulty about my chief additions, which in the English edition follows the VI Chapter & contains some pages taken out of Chapt IV.—3 When the time comes I will get you kindly to consider what had better be done.

With very many thanks, In Haste | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 7 July 1871.
See letter to J. J. Moulinié, 28 June [1871], and letter from J. J. Moulinié, 7 July 1871. CD had proposed that Moulinié delay his translation of the fifth edition of Origin into French in order to take into account CD’s corrections for the sixth edition.
CD added a substantially new seventh chapter (‘Miscellaneous objections to the theory of natural selection’) to Origin 6th ed.


Thanks JJM for willingness to introduce corrections into French edition of Origin.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Sent from
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66 ff. 22-3
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7859,” accessed on 18 March 2018,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19