skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-7836

To J. J. Moulinié   28 June [1871]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. [6 Queen Anne Street, London.]

June 25th

My dear Sir

I have thought it best just to tell you that M. Savy has written to me proposing to bring out translation of the Descent, but I told him of course that everything was arranged.2 For fear of pirated edition your translation had better come out as soon as it can. The Book has been very successful in most countries— 8000 have been already sold in the U. States.3

I am now preparing with considerable corrections a new Edit. of the Origin, to be published this autumn.4 I hope to begin printing in September.— Now I want very much for you to persuade your publisher to delay publishing your Translation till the Autumn, & you yourself to be so very kind as to insert my corrections— How far is your Translation already printed?5

Do pray communicate at once with your Publisher & let me hear the result.— I am sure the new Edition will be improved, & only a few pages, (perhaps 20–30) increased in bulk.— I am writing from home,6 & forget your address, but hope that this letter will reach you.—

With every good wish | My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | Ch Darwin

Footnotes

1
The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 7 July 1871.
2
CD refers to the publishing firm of F. Savy, Paris. The letter has not been found.
3
The American edition of Descent was published by D. Appleton, New York. Two printings were produced in 1871 and a third in 1872 (Freeman 1977). Moulinié’s French translation was published in 1872 (Moulinié trans. 1872).
4
CD worked on Origin 6th ed. from 18 June to 29 October 1871 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
5
In March, Moulinié had advised CD that he hoped to finish his translation of Origin 5th ed. soon. See letter from J. J. Moulinié, 3 March 1871. The publisher was Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald.
6
CD was in London from 24 to 30 June 1871 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).

Summary

Fears a pirated edition of Descent; hopes JJM’s translation will come out soon.

Preparing new [6th] edition of Origin. Can publication of French edition be delayed in order to incorporate corrections?

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7836
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Moulinié, J. J.
Sent from
London Queen Anne St, 6 Down letterhead
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, fol. 20–1)
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7836,” accessed on 28 August 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-7836

letter