skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell   8 November [1869]1

Down Beckenham Kent [6 Queen Anne Street, London]

Nov. 8th

Dear Sir

I am much obliged to you for your kindness in sending me your “Studies in General Science”, over which, as I observe in the Preface, you have spent so much time.—2 In turning over the pages I notice that you quote some statements made by me & very little known to public.3 I received your work only yesterday

With my best thanks | Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the publication date of Blackwell 1869; see n. 2, below.
An inscribed copy of Blackwell 1869 is in the Darwin Library–Down. Blackwell wrote in the preface, pp. v–vii, that the book was ‘the product of more than twenty years of an exceedingly busy life’ of educational pursuits, work as a church pastor, lecturing, and bringing up children.
In Blackwell 1869, Blackwell included quotations from Orchids, ‘Climbing plants’, and Variation; she also discussed points in Origin.

Bibliography

Blackwell, Antoinette Louisa Brown. 1869. Studies in general science. New York: G. P. Putnam & Son.

‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.

Summary

Thanks for Studies in general science [by A. B. Blackwell (1869)].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6976
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Antoinette Louisa Brown Blackwell
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6 Down letterhead
Source of text
Radcliffe Institute, Schlesinger Library, Harvard University (Blackwell Family Papers A–77 Folder 44)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6976,” accessed on 21 November 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6976.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter