skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. C. Tait   1 June [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

June 1st.

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged for your kindness in bringing me the specimens; but I am so much overworked & have so little strength that I shall not be able to examine them for a considerable time.2 You can send them if you please addressed to me at

Orpington Station,

Sth E. Railway3

(To be called for)

If you stay some little time in England & would feel inclined to come to dinner & sleep here I should be much pleased to thank you in person for all your kindness; but at present I feel so far from well, & having lately had so many visitors, that I am sure the excitement of more conversation would quite knock me up.4

I hope that you will enjoy your visit in England & I remain, Dear Sir | yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the other letters from Tait in 1869, for example the letter from W. C. Tait, 13 April 1869.
No letter from Tait has been found announcing his visit to England. The specimens would have been of Drosophyllum lusitanicum (see letter from W. C. Tait, 13 April 1869 and n. 1).
South East Railway Company.
There is no record of Tait’s visiting CD in 1869.

Summary

WCT should send specimens to Orpington Station.

Invites him to visit, but afraid conversation "would quite knock me up".

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6768
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Chester Tait
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Alan R. Tait (private collection)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6768,” accessed on 23 August 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-6768

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter