skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-6625

To J. J. Moulinié   22 February [1869]1

Down Bromley Kent [6 Queen Anne Street]

Feb. 22d

My dear Sir

I am truly obliged to you for your extraordinary kindness in having taken such great trouble in translating the long paper & copying the diagrams. The paper has interested me much, not only in showing so much variation & the effects of selection within a short space of time; but more especially from the variations having been different under different conditions. For of such cases I have very few instances.— I shd never have heard of this paper.—2

My health continues the same; I am always what is called “a poor Devil”; but am able to work for two or three hours daily.—

Mrs. Darwin begs to be kindly remembered to you,3 & with my best thanks pray believe me | My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Charles Darwin.

Footnotes

1
The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 15 February 1869.
2
See letter from J. J. Moulinié, 15 February 1869 and nn. 1 and 2. Moulinié had summarised in English an article by Elie Abel Carrière (Carrière 1869a), published in a French weekly agricultural journal, on selective breeding of wild radishes. CD later received a copy of a revised version of the article (Carrière 1869b) from the author.
3
Moulinié had visited CD on 31 August 1868 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6625
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Moulinié, J. J.
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6 Down letterhead
Source of text
Bibliothèque de Genève, Ms. suppl. 66, f. 9–10
Physical description
3pp

Summary

Thanks JJM for translating long paper [by Carrière, J. Agric. Pratique 48 (1869): 159–67]. Paper interesting especially for showing variation has been different under different conditions.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6625,” accessed on 31 May 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-6625

letter