skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Thomas Campbell Eyton   [before 23 January 1869]1

Eyton, | Wellington, | Salop.

Dear Darwin

I am writing or rather intending to write on a very curious subject   Why do salmon rise or why do not they always rise at the fly   the first short paper or rather letter to Buckland will be published in one of the next nos of Land and Water2   Negretti & Zambra3 are preparing some instruments for me viz

Electrometer

Hygrometer

Barometer

Thermometer

and compass to be fitted in a box of a portable form to go with me fishing by means of which I shall always be able to ascertain the state of the atmosphere at any time and tabulating the observations I hope to come to some results.

Have in your travels made any observations of the sort or observed anything that will help conclusions   if you have or can give me any hints I shall be much obliged to you. Hoping that you are in better health than when you wrote last and that all your party are well also

I remain yours truly | Tho C Eyton

I shall a supplement out shortly to Osteologia4   Have you seen Alphonse Milne Edwards book on the fossil birds of France.5 I was yesterday trying to make from the old book of what country the rabbit was originally a native but was not very successful.6

Footnotes

The date is established by the date of publication of Eyton’s letter to Land and Water; see n. 2, below.
The letter was published in Land and Water, 23 January 1869, p. 58. Eyton refers to Francis Trevelyan Buckland.
Negretti & Zambra were a firm of scientific-instrument makers and photographers whose main premises were at 59 Cornhill, London. The firm had been founded in 1850 by Italian immigrants (Clifton 1995).
Eyton refers to the first supplement to Osteologia avium (Eyton 1867–75), published in 1869. CD’s copy of the book is in the Darwin Library–Down, but the supplements have not been found.
The first volume and atlas of Milne-Edwards 1867–71 were published in 1867 and 1868.
The book Eyton refers to has not been identified.

Summary

Is trying to determine conditions governing whether or not a salmon will rise for a fly.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6572
From
Thomas Campbell Eyton
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Eyton, Wellington, Salop
Source of text
DAR 163: 42
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6572,” accessed on 21 May 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-6572

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter