skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From H. W. Bates   10 September 1868

Royal Geographical Society | 15, Whitehall Place, S.W.

Sept 10 1868

My dear Mr Darwin

On returning from a trip with my children I found your kind invitation.1 Unfortunately I cannot avail myself of it this time, on account of the arrears of work staring me in the face after a brief holiday. I have the 1st number of a new Geographical magazine to bring out in November,2 & manual of Geography in December (I wish they may get it) besides other indispensible work to do.3 So I must work on Sunday & week days for a few weeks.

Yours sincerely | H W Bates


CD’s letter to Bates has not been found; the invitation was for a visit to Down on 12 and 13 September 1868 (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [8–10 September 1868]).
Bates may be referring to the first volume of Illustrated travels: a record of discovery, geography, and adventure (Bates ed. 1869–74).
As assistant secretary of the Royal Geographical Society, Bates regularly edited the Journal and the Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society. Bates may also refer to his article in the third edition of Hints for travellers, though it was not published until 1871 (Bates 1871).The third edition was published in the Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society, which Bates edited. For Bates’s work at the Royal Geographical Society, see Dickinson 1992.


Because of work on the first number of the new Royal Geographical Society magazine, a manual of geography, and other things, HWB finds he must decline CD’s invitation.

Letter details

Letter no.
Henry Walter Bates
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
R. Geogr. Soc.
Source of text
DAR 160: 85
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6360,” accessed on 18 June 2018,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16