skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   23 April [1868]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Ap. 23

My dear Sir

I have seen the Field & like your review very much & am gratified at the way in which you speak of my book.2 It seems to me that you have made an excellent selection of extracts.

I shall be curious some time to hear your remarks on the coloured pigeons, & likewise to receive the results about the proportion of the sexes.3 This latter subject has become very important for me. I hope you will enjoy your expedition to Paris, & I suppose you will not remain there long.4

Please to observe that I have left London.5

Believe me, my dear Sir | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the reference to the review in the Field (see n. 2, below) and by CD’s mention of having left London (see n. 5, below).
CD refers to the first part of the review of Variation that appeared in the 18 April 1868 issue of the Field ([Tegetmeier] 1868b). The second part appeared in the 2 May 1868 issue.
See letters to W. B. Tegetmeier, 11 February [1868], 21 February [1868], and 17 [March 1868], and letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 9 March 1868.
Tegetmeier may have discussed his trip to Paris when he visited CD in London on 16 March 1868 (see letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, 17 [March 1868].
CD had been in London from 3 March to 1 April 1868 (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix II)).

Summary

Likes WBT’s review [of Variation] in the Field [31 (1868): 309, 350].

Awaits remarks on coloured pigeons and proportion of sexes.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6141,” accessed on 20 July 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6141.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16

letter