skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Henry Farncombe Billinghurst   [21 July 1863 – August 1870?]1



I beg to acknowledge the receipt of your favor of the 20th inst returning 7 transfers duly signed by yourself & Mr. G. H. Darwin2

I am Sir | Your obdt Servt | H F Billinghurst | Sub Country Manager


The date range is conjectured on the basis of George Howard Darwin’s birth date and a note by CD on the verso of the letter. George was born on 9 July 1845. The earliest he could have signed a legal document was July 1863. On the verso of this letter is a note by CD mentioning the explanation for the basis of sympathy given in Smith 1759 and Bain 1868. CD notes that neither work can account for the fact that sympathy is stronger when excited by a loved one rather than a stranger. He makes this point in Descent 1: 81–2 and refers to these sources. CD was working on the manuscript of Descent between 1868 and 1870 (Correspondence vols. 16, 17, and this volume). It was sent to the printers in August 1870 (this volume, letter to Mr Dorrell, 9 August 1870).
The reference is to George Howard Darwin. The transfers have not been identified.


Acknowledges the receipt of some signed transfers.

Letter details

Letter no.
Henry Farncombe Billinghurst
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 80: B18v
Physical description
1p inc

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5765,” accessed on 20 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)