skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project


From George Henslow   [18–30 March 1866]1

10 South Crescent | Bedford Sq | W.C.

My dear Sir,

I beg to thank you for your kind letter;2 I should much like to have been able to accede to your proposal but my duties here forbid my availing myself of them: for I not only have a botanical class every Saty. evening, but am engaged every Sunday at St Stephens Westr. so that I could not possible go to Down on a Saturday:3 so that if still agreeable to you I will come on April 2.4

Yours very truly | Geo. Henslow


The date range is established from the relationship between this letter and the letter from George Henslow, 17 March [1866], and from the assumption that CD had invited Henslow for a Saturday before 2 April. In 1866, the last Saturday before 2 April was 31 March.
CD’s letter to Henslow has not been found.
Henslow probably refers to the botanical lectures that he gave at the Royal Institution on Saturdays in March 1866 (see letter from George Henslow, 12 March 1866 and n. 2); he was also headmaster of the Grammar School, Store Street, London (R. Desmond 1994), and may have given botanical classes there. Henslow probably also refers to St Stephen’s Church, Rochester Row, Westminster.
See letter from George Henslow, 12 March 1866 and n. 3.


Cannot come to Down on weekend because of teaching duties.

Letter details

Letter no.
Henslow, George
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
London, South Crescent, 10
Source of text
DAR 166: 156
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5037,” accessed on 23 October 2016,