skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   2 October 1865

26 Abbey Place | St Johns Wood

Oct. 2nd 1865

My dear Darwin

‘This comes hoping you are well’ & for no other purpose than to say as much. I am just back from seven weeks idleness at Littlehampton with my wife & children the first time I have had a holiday of any extent with them for years.1

We are all flourishing—the babies particularly so—and I find myself rather loth to begin grinding at the mill again. There is a vein of laziness in me which crops out uncommonly strong in your godson2—who is about the idlest, jolliest young four year old I know—

You will have been as much grieved as I have been about dear old Hooker—3 According to the last accounts however he is mending & I hope to see him in pristine vigour again before long

My wife is gone to bed or she would join me in kindest regards & remembrances to Mrs Darwin & your family—

Ever yours faithfully | T H Huxley

Footnotes

Littlehampton, a coastal resort in Sussex, was a popular holiday destination for Huxley, his wife Henrietta Anne Huxley, and their six children, Jessie, Marian, Leonard, Rachel, Nettie, and Henry, who ranged in age from 7 years to 9 months (see L. Huxley 1900, 1: 302).
Huxley refers to Leonard Huxley. See A. Desmond 1994–7, 1: 290–1.
Joseph Dalton Hooker had suffered a severe attack of rheumatic fever in August and had recently been recuperating at Buxton, Derbyshire (see letter from F. H. Hooker, [17 August 1865], and letter from J. D. Hooker, [26 September 1865]).

Summary

Has returned from holiday. Family news.

Concern over Hooker’s health.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4905
From
Huxley, T. H.
To
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
London, Abbey Place, 26
Source of text
DAR 166: 310
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4905,” accessed on 4 December 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-4905

letter