skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Trevelyan Buckland   18 March 1865

37 Albany St | Regents Park

March 18 | 1865

My Dear Sir

Would you allow me to be bold enough to introduce to you my friend Mr Cholmondely Pennell, of the Admiralty with whose name you are probably acquainted.1 He is anxious to have a few minutes conversation with you on a litterary matter.2

Yours most truly | Frank Buckland

C Darwin Esq FRS | &c

Footnotes

Henry Cholmondeley Pennell was a second-class clerk in the Naval department of the Admiralty, Whitehall (British imperial calendar 1865). Buckland may have assumed that CD had read contributions Pennell made to the Athenæum and the Field, both periodicals with which CD was familiar (see Men and women of the time, s.v. H. C. Pennell); Pennell had also recently published The angler-naturalist: a popular history of British fresh-water fish, with a plain explanation of the rudiments of ichthyology (Pennell 1863).
Pennell had published poetry in addition to works on angling (Men and women of the time); in 1865 he was preparing a book on the pike (Pennell 1865).

Summary

Introduces Cholmondely Pennell of the Admiralty, who wants to speak to CD about a literary matter.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4789
From
Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albany St, 37
Source of text
DAR 160: 359
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4789,” accessed on 22 September 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-4789.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13

letter