skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. H. Harvey   11 November 1864

4 Winton Road | Dublin

Nov. 11. 1864

Dear Darwin

I contrived to get to town today, and examined all my specimens alluded to in last note.1

I find that my ‘facts’ are only, to a great degree, correct; that is, while the majority of my sp. of the Ipomœa, collected from a great many localities widely separated—several far beyond the Colony—have straight, stiff stems—yet I have one from Howison’s Poort near Grahamstown,2 showing an evident disposition to twine.3 I suppose the locality is moister & more shady—but dont know.

The same of the Ceropegiæ—some of the taller ones show an inclination to curve—but by far the greater number are erect—& seem to have been stiff.—

This is all I can add to what I wrote last.

Yours very truly | W. H. Harvey

Footnotes

Grahamstown is a town in the Eastern Cape province of the Republic of South Africa (formerly Cape Colony) (Columbia gazetteer of the world).

Bibliography

‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.

Columbia gazetteer of the world: The Columbia gazetteer of the world. Edited by Saul B. Cohen. 3 vols. New York: Columbia University Press. 1998.

Summary

Has examined his specimens discussed in his previous note and adds further observations.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4670
From
William Henry Harvey
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Dublin
Source of text
DAR 157.2: 113
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4670,” accessed on 13 December 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-4670.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12

letter