skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-4639

To Edward Cresy   19 October [1865]1

Down, Bromley, Kent

Oct: 19th.

Dear Cresy

My father allowed my brother and self at Cambridge £300 per annum.2 I should have allowed my son the same, but having five of them I told them that was too much, so I have given them £260; but my eldest son got a scholarship worth about £20,3 and I expect I shall have to allow George something extra; as it is, I pay for his private tutor, and when he stays beyond term time all additional expenses.4

George enjoyed his visit with you, and I thank you cordially for your valuable advice.5

My health steadily improves but only slowly.6

Dear Cresy, | Yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

1
The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Edward Cresy, 18 October 1865.
2
CD refers to his father, Robert Waring Darwin, and his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin. Robert Waring Darwin had also given CD £200 to settle his debts at the end of his final term (see Correspondence vol. 1, letter to W. D. Fox, [11 May 1831]).
3
William Erasmus Darwin is listed as a scholar at Christ’s College, Cambridge, in 1859 (Cambridge University calendar 1860, p. 311).
4
CD’s Classed account book (Down House MS) records, under the heading ‘Boys & William’, payments to George of £140 on 10 October 1864, £65 on 1 January, 1 April, and 2 October 1865, and £18 on 24 October 1865; payments to ‘Routh private tutor’ of £8 on 31 January 1865 and £16 on 3 July 1865 are also recorded. George’s tutor was Edward John Routh, a highly successful mathematics coach at Cambridge (Alum. Cantab., DNB).
5
See letter from Edward Cresy, 18 October 1865 and n. 4.
6
See letter from Edward Cresy, 18 October 1865 and n. 5.

Summary

Discusses income provided for sons at Cambridge.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4639
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Cresy, Edward, Jr
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 143: 325
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4639,” accessed on 28 July 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-4639

letter