skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-4320A

From H. E. Darwin to Thomas Warner1   14 October [1863]2

Down, Bromley | Kent S.E.

Oct. 14th

Sir,

Mr. Darwin is too unwell to write himself but will be happy to have his name put down for Mr. Buckman’s testimonial.3

your obedient servant | H. E. Darwin

Mr. Darwin encloses a cheque for 2.2.04

Footnotes

1
Possibly Thomas Warner of Gosditch Street, Circencester, Gloucestershire (Post Office directory of Gloucestershire, with Bath, Bristol, Herefordshire, and Shropshire 1870). A Thomas Warner is listed as an original shareholder in the Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, founded in 1845 (Sayce 1992, p. 351). See also n. 3, below.
2
The year is established by reference to CD’s Account book–cash accounts (Down House MS). See n. 4, below.
3
James Buckman retired from his position as professor of geology and botany at the Royal Agricultural College, Cirencester, Gloucestershire, in 1863; upon resigning his appointment, Buckman ‘received two valuable testimonals, one from the inhabitants of Cirencester and his scientific friends, and the other from his pupils’ (Men and women of the time 1868). Though only one letter to Buckman is extant (Correspondence vol. 6, letter to James Buckman, 4 October [1857]), CD evidently took an interest in Buckman’s research (see letter from S. P. Woodward, 14 February 1863, n. 7).
4
CD’s Account book–cash accounts (Down House MS) for 14 October 1863 records the payment of £2 2s. to Thomas Warner.

Summary

On behalf of her father, she asks that his name be put down for James Buckman’s testimonial. His cheque for £2.2.0 is enclosed.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4320A
From
Darwin, H. E.
To
Warner, Thomas
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Mrs Carole Cockett
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4320A,” accessed on 29 September 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-4320A

letter