skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-427

To [unidentified]  12 September [1838]

Sept. 12th

My dear Sir

Perhaps you may remember that some months since, you were kind enough to procure for me from Mr Clark, a letter asking the Lieut. Governor at Addiscombe1 to allow me to inspect the model of St Helena kept there.2

The publication of my geology has been much delayed, & now before going to press, I am particularly anxious to see the model once again, to correct the proportion of some geological sections.3

Would it be asking you too great a favour to take the trouble of procuring for me some note to the Governor, or resident authority for this purpose.

I should esteem it a very great favour, if you could effect this for me; & will excuse the liberty I take in troubling you.— In case you should be able procure permission for me; perhaps you would be good enough to communicate it to me by the Post.

Believe me dear Sir | Yours very truly obliged | Charles Darwin 36 Great Marlborough St.

Footnotes

1
F. Clark, of the Secretary’s office, India House, compiled the East India Register and Directory (1841). In it Major-General Sir Ephraim Gerrish Stannus is listed as Lieutenant Governor of the East India College, Addiscombe. The college was founded in 1809 to train army officers for the East India Company.
2
The model was constructed by Robert F. Seale, author of a book on the geology of St Helena (Seale 1834). See Volcanic islands, p. 75 n.
3
The plan to publish a single volume on ‘volcanic islands and coral reefs’ was eventually abandoned. Although CD had finished writing up most of his material on volcanic islands (see letter to Charles Lyell, [14] September [1838]) it was not published until 1844, as the second of three volumes on the geology of the voyage. It was preceded by Coral reefs (1842).

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-427
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
unidentified
Sent from
London, Gt Marlborough St, 36
Physical description
3pp

Summary

Seeks permission to make another visit to Addiscombe [Military College] to see again the model of St Helena. He needs to correct proportion of some geological sections in his Geology [see Volcanic islands, ch. 4].

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 427,” accessed on 12 February 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-427

letter