skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Richard Owen    [January 1838]1

36 Grt. Marlbro’ St


My dear Owen

I called yesterday in hopes of being able to see you, and of finding you quite well again.—2

I want to speak to you about the last engravings which Scharf has sent.—3 I suppose you received the revise of Toxodon.— What an unlucky affair the failure of the big head was.—4 It will be well if the first number is out by the 1st of Feb. but I hope it will be.—

I want to know whether you will be at home between two and half after this day if I call.— Will you send me word by the Bearer.

I name this hour for at 3o. I am engaged at Geolog. Soc. and before I have Mr Sowerby, who is beginning to go through my fossil shells—5

Ever Yours | C. Darwin


Dated by the relationship to the letters to Richard Owen, [28 December 1837] and 28 [December 1837] (Correspondence vol. 2).
Owen was describing the fossil mammals CD brought back from the Beagle voyage. Fossil Mammalia, part 1 of Zoology, was published early in February 1838.
The lithographer George Scharf prepared the engravings for Fossil Mammalia.
George Brettingham Sowerby described the fossil shells from the Beagle voyage.


Would like to call upon RO to discuss the last engravings sent by George Scharf. CD assumes that the revise of Toxodon [see 395] was received.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Richard Owen
Sent from
London, Gt Marlborough St, 36
Source of text
Kenneth W. Rendell (dealer) (1990)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 399A,” accessed on 20 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7 (Supplement)