skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To H. W. Bates   18 October [1862]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Oct 18th

My dear Mr Bates

Many thanks for your very friendly note.—2 I am not at all surprised at the time which your Book has taken.3 Everyone finds the same thing. It is dull work, but must be borne. People differ about being hurried by Proofs: I hate it, so shd recommend you not to be in too great a hurry. Murray4 would be an excellent adviser when you had better begin. After M.S. sent in, proofs seldom arrive for first fortnight, & then the flow is steady. I am most anxious that yours shd be a real good Book; so do not hurry over proofs—; yet I have known some very few men correct too much, & flatten their style.— I find it good to correct in pencil & read aloud, & if it sounds well, not to plague more over it. But you write a capital style.

I am very glad you have finished paper for Linn. Soc.5 When I go to London, I must enquire for the Part; for it is not sent till enquired for.6 You need not ask me to read it carefully; I shall be sure to do that.— not having been in London I have not seen a paper which you told me would appear in Annals.7

I am glad to hear about Mr Brown: I thought he was something remarkable!8

Mrs Darwin & my Boy are well;9 but my children are cause of never ending anxiety to me.—

This is a stupid note, but I am tired with a long day’s work.

With hearty good wishes for your work through the press— Dear Bates | Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship to the letter from H. W. Bates, 17 October 1862.
Letter from H. W. Bates, 17 October 1862.
Bates 1863.
John Murray.
Bates 1862a.
CD refers to the third part of volume 23 of the Transactions of the Linnean Society of London, in which Bates 1862a appeared; the part was published on 13 November 1862 (Raphael 1970, p. 70).
Bates 1862b. See letter from H. W. Bates, 19 May 1862 and n. 7.
Emma and Leonard Darwin had been ill with scarlet fever during the summer (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix II)).


Thanks for last note. Assures HWB that all writers have problems similar to his.

Plans to inquire at Linnean Society for HWB’s paper.

His family, including Mrs Darwin and Leonard, are now well.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Henry Walter Bates
Sent from
Source of text
Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3773,” accessed on 20 May 2018,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10