skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Charles Cardale Babington   1 July 1837

St John’s Coll: Cambridge

July 1. 1837.

Dear Darwin

I returned here yesterday evening & found your letter lying upon my table. Will you tell Hope that I have only one insect from Australia, that is K. Georges Sound. It is an Hydroporus allied to 12–punctatus but smaller & less marked with yellow. I will endeavour to complete a description of it during the following week & send it to you for Hope.1 I have only one species from New Zealand, it appears to be an Hydrobius. From Terre del Fuego the species are more numerous, namely, a small & imperfect specimen of Hydrobius, (a single specimen of Corixa,) 4 specimens of a very pretty species of Hydroporus allied to lineatus, 5 species of Colymbetes, allied respectively to our pulverosus, femoralis?, & oblongus.

I am sorry to say that I have been prevented from examining the insects with care, but propose doing so & drawing up the descriptions after the long vacation. I have been very fully employed since you left Cambridge & am now on the point of starting for Jersey where I intend to pass the greater part of this month, & next in botanicaal research. I will however endeavour to comple[te] the K.G.S. species for Hope & leave it with you or Waterhouse as I pass through town. I propose sending my complete account of your Insects to the Entoml. Society when finished,2 but will not do so if you wish any other plan to be adopted. Still I think that that is the best place for them.

Believe me yours truly | Charles C. Babington

Footnotes

In the Hope Entomological Collections, University Museum, Oxford, a manuscript note in Babington’s hand, describing Hydroporus darwinii Bab. is attached to CD’s letter to Frederick William Hope, [21 June 1837]. A revised and expanded version of the note is printed in C. C. Babington 1841–3, p. 13.
A note by CD in DAR 118: 19 indicates that Babington undertook to describe CD’s ‘Water insects from all parts of the world’. On 4 June 1838 Babington read a paper at the Entomological Society in which he described mainly South American species of Dytiscidae collected by CD (C. C. Babington 1841–3). No New Zealand species is described; five are from Tierra del Fuego.

Summary

Reports on the insect specimens [collected by CD] from Australia, New Zealand, and Tierra del Fuego. Has not completed descriptions.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-363
From
Charles Cardale Babington
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
St John’s College, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 29.1: C3
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 363,” accessed on 20 July 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-363.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 2

letter