skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-3556

From Georgina Tollet   17 May [1862]1

30 Q. A. St

May 17

My dear Charles

Accept my best thanks for the Orchid book.2

My head is in too weak a state to read more than 2 or 3 pages at a time, but I enjoy these glimpses of the wonders you have discovered, exceedingly.

I much fear that I have no chance of talking it over with you this summer. Even if I were to get better before June 5, that awful day will certainly make me bad again.3

I wonder if you ever saw a bird’s nest built on the top of another.

In Ld Bradford’s shrubbery there is a hedgesparrow’s on the roof of a wren’s.4

I have not seen Mackintosh yet; all I hear of him alarms me much.5

With best love to Emma & thanks for her letter | Believe me | Yrs. affectly | G Tollet

Footnotes

1
The year is established by reference to the publication of Orchids (see n. 2, below).
2
Tollet’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for Orchids (see Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix IV). Orchids was published on 15 May 1862 (Freeman 1977, p. 112).
3
Tollet refers to the marriage, on 5 June 1862, of her niece, Marianne Caroline Clive, to John Robert Orlando Bridgeman, son of the second earl of Bradford (see n. 4, below).
4
The reference is to George Augustus Frederick Henry Bridgeman, second earl of Bradford.
5
The reference is probably to Emma Darwin’s nephew, James Mackintosh Wedgwood, who was suffering from an incurable cancer (Wedgwood and Wedgwood 1980, pp. 274 and 279).

Summary

Thanks for Orchids.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3556
From
Tollet, Georgina
To
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 30
Source of text
DAR 178: 128
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3556,” accessed on 30 September 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-3556

letter