skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-3496

From Alfred Russel Wallace   7 April 1862

5 Westbourne Grove Terrace. W

April 7th. 1862

My dear Mr. Darwin

I was much pleased to receive your note this morning.1 I have not yet begun work but hope to be soon busy.2 As I am being doctored a little I do not think I shall be able to accept your kind invitation at present but trust to be able to do so during the summer.

I beg you to accept a wild honeycomb from the island of Timor, not quite perfect but the best I could get. It is of a small size but of characteristic form & I think will be interesting to you. I was quite unable to get the honey out of it, so fear you will find it somewhat in a mess but no doubt you will know how to clean it.

I have told Stevens to send it to you.3

Hoping your health is now quite restored & with best wishes | I remain | My dear Mr Darwin | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace

C. Darwin Esq.

Footnotes

1
CD’s letter has not been found.
2
Wallace had recently arrived in England, having spent eight years in the Malay Archipelago (Wallace 1905, 1: 385).
3
Samuel Stevens was Wallace’s London agent, responsible for handling the natural history specimens that Wallace collected. In a drawer of the rent table in CD’s study at Down House is a pill box marked: ‘Bees: Timor   Wallace, of which I have comb.—’

Summary

Cannot accept invitation at present.

Is sending a wild honeycomb from Timor.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3496
From
Wallace, A. R.
To
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
London, Westbourne Grove Terrace, 5
Source of text
DAR 106/7 (ser. 2): 1
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3496,” accessed on 25 August 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-3496

letter