skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   [7 April 1862]1

Royal Gardens Kew

Dr. Darwin

I shall I hope be able to send you Vanilla Flowers in a day or two.—2 How are you after your tremendous effect on the placid Linnæans?3

Ever yrs affec | J D Hooker

Kew   Monday.

Footnotes

Dated by the reference to CD’s having recently read a paper at a meeting of the Linnean Society (see n. 3, below), and by the relationship to the letter to J. D. Hooker, 9 [April 1862]. The first Monday following the meeting in question was 7 April 1862.
CD had been anxious to examine specimens of the orchid tribe Arethuseae, to which the genus Vanilla belongs, before completing Orchids, but had been unable to procure any living flowers (see Correspondence vol. 9, letters to J. D. Hooker, 27 July [1861] and 13 [August 1861], and this volume, letter to J. D. Hooker, 9 [April 1862]). See also Orchids, p. 269.
CD read his paper, ‘Three sexual forms of Catasetum tridentatum’, before the Linnean Society of London on 3 April 1862 (see letter to Charles Lyell, 1 April [1862] and n. 5).

Summary

Will hope to be able to send Vanilla flowers in a day or two.

How is CD after his tremendous effect on the placid Linneans? ["Sexual forms of Catasetum", Collected papers 2: 63–70; read 3 Apr 1862.]

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3495
From
Joseph Dalton Hooker
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Kew
Source of text
DAR 101: 32
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3495,” accessed on 27 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-3495

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10

letter