skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-339

To John Maurice Herbert   [1 January 1837]

Sunday night.

My dear old Herbert.

As I have not seen you to wish you good bye in propriâ persona, I must do it, on paper for I suppose you will not be in Cambridge at the latter end of the week when I return;1 I do not know when I have spent a merrier evening than yesterdays— It was like the old time sitting by you & hearing prodigies— I shall not in a hurry forget your awful appearance as you lay on the sofa with a great snow ball in the place of your head.— Jem2 certainly victimized you in capital style.— I suppose we shall have the Gentleman in the Plaid Coat, hawking “this is the head of that well know character fellow of St Johns3 &c & c” I certainly will put my name down for a proof before letters4 if there are such things— I was wishing so much that we had agreed to take a walk.— I went into Kings & heard Sauls dead March.— What a glorious sight the whole is— I never formerly knew how properly to admire it—

Adios, you best of good old Fellows. Chas Darwin. 3. Fitzwilliam St 5

Footnotes

1
On 4 January 1837, CD read his paper on ‘Observations of proofs of recent elevation on the coast of Chili’ to the Geological Society of London (Collected papers 1: 41–3).
2
James Richard Holden.
3
Herbert had been elected Fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge in 1832 (Alum. Cantab.).
4
Proofs made from the plates of an engraving before the ordinary printing.
5
Now 22 Fitzwilliam Street, Cambridge, where CD lived until March 1837.

Summary

Enjoyed the merry evening with JMH.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-339
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Herbert, J. M.
Sent from
London, Fitzwilliam St, 3
Source of text
Natural History Museum
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 339,” accessed on 31 August 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-339

letter