skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Daniel Oliver   [22–3 September 1860]1

15 Marine Parade | Eastbourne

My dear Sir

This is my address.—   I will write soon— I am grateful for your last note.—

I am dying to hear about pure gum2

[Yours] | C. Darwin.

P.S.3 | Will you be so kind as to dry a little of your Gum used on Drosera & burn it; perhaps you would detect smell of animal matter if any gelatine or glue used or size4 used.—

Any corrosive Sublimate??5

Could you send me, when you write, one leaf (& name) of Australian Drosera, that I may see it out of idle curiosity.—6


Dated by CD’s reference to having arrived in Eastbourne. CD and the children left Down on 22 September (‘Journal’; Appendix II). The letter was written prior to receiving Oliver’s reply (see letter from Daniel Oliver, 25 September 1860).
The postscript is on a separate slip of paper. The contents indicate that it belongs to this letter.
Size: ‘an agglutinant consisting of undried glue’ (EB).
This sentence was added in pencil.
See letter to Daniel Oliver, 11 September [1860]. There is a note headed ‘Drosera spathulata Australia from Kew’ that is dated ‘Sept. 28th—/60/’ in DAR 54: 5.


Sends address.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Daniel Oliver
Sent from
Source of text
Down House (MS 10: 12, 18)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2924,” accessed on 20 March 2018,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8