skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project


From E. A. Darwin   26 April 1853

April 26 1853

Dear Charles.

I have received your statement of Emma’s trust and I send you this acknowledgment of the Securities in my keeping. I received from Mr Hine,1 Mr & Mrs Darwins Marriage Settlement2 & Muckleston Mortgage.3 This I suppose includes the three which you mention namely

your marriage Settlement

Emma’s —— Do

Emma’s General Trust.


Major Owens Mortge for £20,000

& Maryport & Carlisle share £3,686 . 10 . 0

Newcastle & Carlisle do. £4,022 . 6 . 6

The two last not yet received

ever yours | Eras. Darwin

Every thing in my possession is in a Deed Box at Messrs Herries & Co4 C. Darwin Esq


William Hine, of Hine and Robinson, solicitors, 32 Charterhouse Square, London (CD’s Address book (Down House MS) and Post Office London directory 1853).
The financial arrangements drawn up between Robert Waring Darwin and Josiah Wedgwood II on the marriage of CD and Emma in 1839 are given in Correspondence vol. 2, letter from Josiah Wedgwood II and Emma Wedgwood to R. W. Darwin, 15 November 1838, n. 1.
In CD’s Investment book (Down House MS) the Edward Muckleston mortgage, the Owen mortgage, and the Maryport and Carlisle Railway shares are listed under ‘Emma’s trust property’. The Newcastle and Carlisle preference shares are listed as CD’s property, but on 1 May 1853 they were transferred to E. A. Darwin and Josiah Wedgwood III ‘as Trustees of my Wife’ (p. 57).
Herries, Farquhar, Davidson, Chapman & Co. Bankers, 16 St James’s Street, London (Post Office London directory 1853). In the envelope containing this letter there are four pages of notes made at later dates (1856, 1871, and 1879) concerning some of the investments mentioned.


Acknowledges the receipt of some securities.

Letter details

Letter no.
Darwin, E. A.
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 262.11: 13
Physical description
2pp, encl 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1516,” accessed on 23 October 2016,