skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To ?   7 December [1855–7?]1

Dec. 7th

Dear Sir

Will you be so kind as to take the trouble to inform me the address of Mr.—(?) Mason, who I believe is at Madeira,2 & whether he intends visiting the Azores. I want him to collect for me 2 or 3 trifling specimens3 & I do not know how to write to him.—

Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The years are conjectured from the reference to a Mr Mason; Nathaniel Haslope Mason collected plants in Madeira between 1855 and 1857 (R. Desmond 1994).
Nathaniel Haslope Mason; see n. 1, above.
The specimens may have been bats. In the letter to Charles Lyell, 5 [October 1860] (Correspondence vol. 8), CD wrote: ‘The subject of Bats is washed out of my head: I got Mr Mason to collect in Madeira & the species turned out to be European.... I failed to get the Azores species.’ CD was evidently also seeking bat specimens from the Azores in May 1855 (see Correspondence vol. 5, letter from T. C. Hunt, 2 July 1855). Bats are discussed in a section on the inhabitants of oceanic islands in the second chapter on geographical distribution (chapter 12) in Origin (pp. 394–5); Madeira and the Azores are not mentioned. However, see also Origin, pp. 104–7.

Summary

Concerning specimens he wants collected in the Azores.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-13867A
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Unidentified
Source of text
DAR 249: 93 (photocopy)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13867A,” accessed on 23 October 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-13867A.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13 (Supplement)

letter