skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project


To John Edward Gray   [January 1851]1

My dear Gray

I will be here tomorrow morning at 10 oclock,2 & as I have very much to do will you kindly oblige me by having Spengler on Cirripedia3 (which you once showed me) ready for me.— Also I want to look at the rest of the sessile Cirripedia in the Collection,4 for praise be to Heaven, I have finished Balanus.5 And Lastly could I see Mr Cocks’ collection?—6

Forgive this trouble | yours


Dated from CD’s reference to having ‘finished Balanus’ (see n. 5, below).
CD recorded the expenses of three trips to London during January and February 1851 (Classed account book (Down House MS)). It has not been possible to identify which trip was the one mentioned in the letter.
Spengler 1790. CD cited this work in Fossil Cirripedia (1854) and in Living Cirripedia (1854).
CD had requested permission from the trustees of the British Museum to borrow the Cirripedia collections (see Correspondence vol. 4, letter to J. E. Gray, 18 December 1847).
CD’s ‘Journal’ entry for 30 December 1850 reads: ‘finished Balanus & Pachylisma’ (see Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix I).
William Pennington Cocks, Cornish surgeon and collector. Cocks donated a small collection to the British Museum in 1849, which included specimens of Balanus tintinnabulum (see de Beer 1958, p. 93 n.). This species is extremely variable, which is perhaps why CD wished to examine Cocks’s collection (see Living Cirripedia (1854): 196).


Is coming tomorrow to see Lorenz Spengler on cirripedes [Auserlesne Schnecken, Muscheln und andre Schaalthiere (1758)] and the remaining sessile cirripedes in the collection. Has finished Balanus.

Letter details

Letter no.
Darwin, C. R.
Gray, J. E.
Sent from
Source of text
Natural History Museum (Zoology letters 2: 57)
Physical description
AL 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1383,” accessed on 21 October 2016,