skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Josiah Wedgwood III   [22 August? 1847]1

Sunday

Dear Jos.

As I do not know whether Mr Stokes writes to you, I send the enclosed.2 I have acknowledged the receipt & asked him to pay the calls in advance of 200£., if he has received no instructions to the contrary from you.—3

It appears there is now no dividend.

£

Paid 3742. 10

Call 200

3942"104

Will you undertake that Mr Stokes is paid.—

I have got Erasmus to write to N. W. Railway to know whether I can pay off all the little calls in that Railway.— There is no hurry whatever; but whenever I know what money is over, I think I will get one or more shares (as it may be) in this same Railway.—5

I cannot tell you how heartily I congratulate you both on having secured Leith Hall Place & being fixed for life.—6

Yours affect | C. Darwin

Footnotes

The date is conjectured from the relationship between this letter and an entry in CD’s Investment book (Down House MS) recording Charles Stokes’s purchase of stock in the Leeds and Bradford Guaranteed Railway on 21 August 1847. The Sunday following 21 August 1847 was 22 August.
The enclosure has not been found.
CD’s letter to Stokes has not been found. See n. 1, above.
This sum is recorded in CD’s Investment book (Down House MS).
CD had purchased shares in the London and North West Railway on 30 June 1846 (CD’s Investment book (Down House MS)). There is no record of further stock purchases in the London and North West Railway. CD refers to his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin.
Josiah Wedgwood III and his wife Caroline Sarah Wedgwood purchased Leith Hill Place, near Dorking, Surrey, in 1847 (Bright 1884).

Summary

Writes concerning Charles Stokes’s purchase of stock in the Leeds and Bradford Guaranteed Railway.

Is glad that JW III is settled for life at Leith Hill Place.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-1111F
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Josiah Wedgwood, III
Source of text
Alan Wedgwood (private collection)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1111F,” accessed on 17 January 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-1111F

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 18 (Supplement)

letter