skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project


To Mary Treat   21 April [1876]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

April 21st/76/

Dear Mrs Treat

I congratulate you on your splendid Botanical success in finding the Water Lily & Amaryllis.2 Alas I know nothing of systematical botany. The specimens which you have sent of Utricularia are most beautiful & excellently preserved. I shall feel great interest in reading your account of them when published.3

I am sorry to say that I never received the article in Harpers on the sensitivity of the valve in Utricularia,— a subject which drives me half mad.—4 If you have been able to prove either side of the case, I beg you to tell me exact title & date of the number, which I can then easily procure.

If the Nymphaea is presumed by Dr. Gray to be a new species, I am sure Dr Hooker wd be very glad of a specimen.—5 I hope that you received my Book on Insectivorous Plants, copies of which were despatched at the same time to you, Asa Gray & Dr Canby.6

Dear Madam | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

I have thought it best to address this to Vineland


Congratulations on finding water-lily.

Thanks for Pinguicula specimens.

Asks for reference to her article on Utricularia [see 10508].

Letter details

Letter no.
Darwin, C. R.
Treat, Mary
Sent from
Source of text
Vineland Historical and Antiquarian Society
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10464,” accessed on 23 October 2016,