skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Delpino Federico" in search-correspondent [X]
1871 in date [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Federico Delpino   7 January 1871


Sends his new work, Ulteriori osservazioni sulla dicogomia pt 2, fasc. 1.

Has found no nectar in Orchis morio or O. maculata in Italy and has seen no insects visiting the plants.

Gives his observations on cross- and self-fertilisation in cereals.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Jan 1871
Classmark:  DAR 111: A77–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7430

From Federico Delpino   15 November 1871


Sends paper on Artemesia.

Praise for Descent.

Has talked to St George Mivart about CD’s health.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 162: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8069

To Federico Delpino   22 November 1871


Will send FD’s work [Studi sopra un lignaggio anemofilo delle composte (1871)] to Nature for review.

CD’s health has been poor all summer – he doubts that he will ever "have the strength to publish on Variability under a state of Nature".

Hopes to publish on cross- and self-fertilisation next summer.

Encloses his photo and asks for FD’s.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Federico Delpino
Date:  22 Nov 1871
Classmark:  Anna Barone (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8082

From Federico Delpino   5 December 1871


Praise of CD. Acknowledges his indebtedness to CD for defining the subject of plant fecundation.

Expecting CD’s work on the effects of cross-fertilisation.

CD has put him in touch with George Bentham.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 162: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8098
Document type
letter (4)
01 (1)
11 (2)
12 (1)