skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Delpino Federico" in search-correspondent [X]
1869 in date [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Federico Delpino   22 August 1869


Declares himself CD’s defender; but he is a "teleologist".

Sends CD three more papers.

His research confirms his faith and belief in variability of species.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Aug 1869
Classmark:  DAR 162: 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6866

To Federico Delpino   24 and 25 August [1869]


Thanks FD for his three publications.

CD is pleased that FD has discussed Pangenesis, although he does not favour the hypothesis. Will seek English publisher.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Federico Delpino
Date:  24 and 25 Aug 1869
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.376)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6869

From Federico Delpino   9 October 1869


Acknowledges receipt of CD’s Primula paper [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 437–54].

Nectar-sucking birds fertilise tropical flowers.

Writing a "Dualistic apologia for Pangenesis" [see translation in Sci. Opin. 2 (1869): 365–7, 391–3, 407–8].

Homology of the orchid rostellum.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 162: 144
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6928

To Federico Delpino   14 October 1869


Cautions FD about fluid in labellum of Coryanthes.

T. H. Farrer is enthusiastic about FD’s papers.

Believes humming-birds fertilise many American flowers.

Mentions his reply to FD’s criticisms ["Pangenesis: Mr Darwin’s reply to Professor Delpino", Sci. Opin. 2 (1869): 426; Collected papers 2: 158–60].

Suggests that FD study fertilisation of Gramineae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Federico Delpino
Date:  14 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 143: 379
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6938

From Federico Delpino   1 November 1869


Comments on Hermann Crüger’s paper, sent by CD, on fertilisation of orchids [J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 8 (1865): 127–35].

Observations on dichogamy in grasses (wheat, rye, barley).

Has not yet read CD’s reply to his article on Pangenesis [Collected papers 2: 158–60].

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 162: 145
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6965
Document type
letter (5)
08 (2)
10 (2)
11 (1)