skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Bates H W" in search-correspondent [X]
1870 in date [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Henry Walter Bates   17 January 1870

thumbnail

Summary

Returns CD’s MS [of entomological section of Descent] marked with suggested alterations.

Suggests qualifications about rudimentary horn in female Onitis furcifer [See Descent 1: 372].

Sends additional data on colour differences in sexes of longicorn Coleoptera [See Descent 1: 367–8].

Suggests a modification of CD’s view of female coloration that would bring him "nearly into harmony" with Wallace.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 82: A44–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7082

From H. W. Bates   20 May 1870

Summary

Concern over Wallace’s book [Contributions to the theory of natural selection (1870)] and its apparent backsliding from Darwinian theory. HWB suggests that only CD is capable of criticising the book.

HWB hopes not too much was made over his few comments on man in M. F. Somerville’s book [Physical geography, revised ed. (1870)].

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 May 1870
Classmark:  DAR 160: 88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7197

To H. W. Bates   [22 May 1870]

Summary

Explains why he has declined writing a review for Messrs Appleton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  [22 May 1870]
Classmark:  British Library (Surrogate RP 8018/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7765F
Document type
letter (3)
Addressee
Correspondent
Date
1870
01 (1)
05 (2)
letter