skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. W. Reade   6 April [1874]1

10 Craven Street | Strand

April 6.

My dear Sir

I just write you a line to say I have come back from the Gold Coast and to express a hope that you have been in tolerable health during the winter.2

I am sorry to say that I have brought home no new ethnological facts— Do not trouble to answer this; I have some idea of becoming a member of the Royal Institution and if introduced by a member of the Committee can get in without delay. As I believe your brother is one, (or if not you have many friends on it) I may ask for your kind offices in the matter.3 But I shall not make up my mind till I have been there again to make inquiries & will in any case write to you again in the course of the week.

I have had 2 attacks of dysentery & have still chronic Diarrhœa in a mild way—but am in very fair health notwithstanding

I remain | Yours very truly | Winwood Reade

Footnotes

The year is established by the reference to Reade’s election to the Royal Institution of Great Britain (see n. 3, below).
Reade had been in West Africa reporting on the third Anglo-Ashanti War for The Times (see Correspondence vol. 21, letter from W. W. Reade, 31 August [1873]).
CD’s brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, had been a member of the Royal Institution since 1830. His sons George Howard and Francis Darwin were also members; George joined in 1870 and Francis in 1872. Reade became a member in 1874. (List of the members, officers, and professors (London: Royal Institution of Great Britain, 1874).)

Summary

Just back from Gold Coast.

Would like to become a member of the Royal Institution.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9392
From
William Winwood Reade
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Craven St, 10
Source of text
DAR 176: 71
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9392,” accessed on 18 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-9392

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22

letter