skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   5 April 1874

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Ap. 5th 74

My dear Sir

Many thanks for Boddart. I am ashamed to say that I cannot remember whether I have paid my subscription of 5/–. I enclose a card (addressed to save as much trouble as possible) & please tell me on it whether I have paid, & if not whether the P.O.O shall be payable at the Strand or at Finchley.1 I am very much obliged for the very interesting article about the Argus Pheasant2

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


CD had agreed to subscribe to Tegetmeier’s edition of Boddaert 1783 (Tegetmeier ed. 1874; see letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, [before 5 April 1874]). He evidently paid Tegetmeier by Post Office order. Tegetmeier lived in Finchley, North London; he wrote for the Field, which had offices in the Strand, Central London.
CD refers to an article by Tegetmeier, ‘Display of the argus pheasant’, in the Field, 28 March 1874, p. 296; a copy is in DAR 88: 188. The article included a large illustration by Thomas W. Wood of the male displaying its plumage before the female, and an extract from Descent 2: 141 describing the development of ocelli in the wing-feathers of the bird. A simplified version of Wood’s drawing was used in Descent 2d ed., p. 400 plate 52.


Many thanks for Boddaert [see 9389].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9390,” accessed on 18 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22