skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To S. H. Haliburton   6 November [1872]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Nov. 6th.

My dear Sarah

I have been very much pleased by your letter, which I must call charming.—2 I hardly ventured to think that you would have retained a friendly recollection of me for so many years. Yet I ought to have felt assured that you would remain as warm-hearted & as true-hearted as you have ever been from my earliest recollection.— I know well how many grievous sorrows you have gone through; but I am very sorry to hear that your health is not good. In the Spring or summer, when the weather is better, if you can summon up courage to pay us a visit here, both my wife, as she desires me to say, & myself would be truly glad to see you, & I know that you would not care about being rather dull here. It would be a real pleasure to me to see you.— Thank you much for telling about your family,—much of which was new to me. How kind you all were to me as a boy, & you especially, & how much happiness I owe to you.3

Believe me | Your affectionate & obliged Friend | Charles Darwin

Perhaps you would like to see a Photograph of me now that I am old.—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from S. H. Haliburton, 3 November [1872].


Thanks SH for news of her family. Would like her to visit Down in the spring.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Sarah Harriet (Sarah Harriet Williams) (Sarah Harriet Mostyn Owen) Haliburton
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 185: 23
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8601,” accessed on 27 May 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20