skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To L. H. Morgan   7 June 1871

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

June 7 1871

My dear Sir

I shall have great pleasure in seeing you here on any day which will suit you;1 but please to inform me beforehand. The best route is to leave Charing Cross by the 11.15 train for Orpington Station S.E.R.2 which is 4 miles from my house; & you will arrive here a little after 12.30. We will lunch at one o’clock & you can return by the 2.40 train. It grieves me to propose so short a visit, but my health has been very indifferent during the last week, & I am really incapable of conversing with any one except for a short time.

I shall have great pleasure in seeing & remain dear Sir | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

Morgan visited CD on 9 June 1871 (Morgan 1937, p. 338). Morgan had sent CD some of his ethnological works, which supported CD’s views on the development of human civilisation (see Correspondence vol. 18, letter from L. W. Morgan, 9 August 1870 and n. 3).
S.E.R.: South Eastern Railway.

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 26 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Morgan, Lewis Henry. 1937. Extracts of Lewis Henry Morgan’s European travel journal. Edited by Leslie A. White. Rochester, N. Y.: Rochester Historical Society.

Summary

Directions to Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7808
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Lewis Henry Morgan
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Department of Rare Books,Special Collections and Preservation, University of Rochester Libraries
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7808,” accessed on 18 November 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-7808.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19

letter