skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Albany Hancock   25 July 1869

St. Mary’s Terrace | Newcastle on Tyne

25th July 1869.

My dear Sir,

My having been from home must account for the delay that has occurred in replying to your note of the 17th Inst. I have just returned after an absence of upwards of a week.1

It would give me great pleasure to assist you to the required Calcareous Sponges, but I unfortunately have no collection of them—2 I possess, however a few of the British Clionæ and could supply two or three species of these curious excavating forms if you think they would be of any service.3

The gentleman best able to aid you is the Rev. A. M. Norman,4 Newbattle—Fence-Houses, Durham— He has an extensive collection of British Sponges, and would, I, am sure, have much pleasure in giving every assistance in his power.— I have given his address above, that you can if you think proper apply to him direct;—or should you prefer it I will make the application in your name—

With every wish to aid you in this matter—I am | My dear Sir, | Your’s ever truly | Albany Hancock.

Ch. Darwin Esqre

Footnotes

Hancock refers to sponges of the genus Cliona, whose members burrow into coral, calcareous rock, or shells of both living and dead molluscs (see Hancock 1849).
Alfred Merle Norman.

Summary

Cannot help CD with his request for calcareous sponges.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6842
From
Albany Hancock
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Source of text
DAR 166: 97
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6842,” accessed on 13 December 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6842.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter