skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To George Maw   27 April [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Apr 27th

My dear Sir

I thank you sincerely for your great kindness about the rare Drosophyllum.— The plants have arrived, but in a rather sickly condition: they may, however, recover.2 A strange coincidence has occurred: after writing to you I received a letter from a stranger in Oporto, offering to send me any plants, so I mentioned the Drosophyllum, which he found immediately & sent me a supply; they arrived in a very bad state, but have recovered enough for me to observe.3 The species, however, possesses far less interest than I had confidently expected.

Dr Hooker has been here & tells me that you have sent home a good many plants.4 What an indomitable worker you are in many subjects!

With very sincere thanks for your great kindness | pray believe me | My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from George Maw, 18 April 1869.
CD refers to William Chester Tait; see letter from W. C. Tait, 26 January 1869, letter to W. C. Tait, 2 February [1869], and letter from W. C. Tait, 2 March 1869. See also letter to George Maw, 13 January 1868.
Joseph Dalton Hooker was the director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.


Thanks GM for specimens of Drosophyllum; by a strange coincidence CD has also received plants from a correspondent in Oporto [W. C. Tait].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Maw
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Horticultural Society, Lindley Library (MAW/1/16)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6714,” accessed on 22 September 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17