skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Huxley   10 June 1868

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

June 10 1868

My Dear Huxley

In a letter from Mr. Dallas just received he says he has just been reading Häckel’s book & thinks it one of the most remarkable of our time; & then asks wd the Ray Soc. publish a translation?1 As you see every body, I have thought this suggestion worth passing on for the chance of your agreeing with it.

The German is too difficult for ordinary mortals, though a joke to Henle who troubles the peace of all my family.2

This note requires no sort of answer.

I hope Mrs Huxley & all of you are pretty well. I often think of your little man & can fancy I see him now with the spoon sticking perpendicularly out of his mouth & his eyes as roguish eyes as those of an angel.3

As Mrs Huxley won’t sell him she might loan him to us & I wd return him with his manners highly polished.

Ever yours | C. Darwin


See letter from W. S. Dallas, 9 June 1868 and n. 5. CD refers to William Sweetland Dallas, Ernst Haeckel, and Haeckel’s Generelle Morphologie (Haeckel 1866).
CD probably refers to part of Henle 1855–71 (Handbuch der systematischen Anatomie des Menschen): an annotated copy of volume 1, part 3, on muscles, is in the Darwin Library–CUL (see Marginalia 1: 368).
Henrietta Anne Huxley and her children had stayed at Down House from 18 April to 4 May 1868. CD refers in particular to Henry Huxley, who was 3 years old in 1868.


W. S. Dallas asks whether Ray Society would publish translation of Haeckel’s Generelle morphologie. If THH thinks suggestion good, he might make inquiries.

Family news.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Henry Huxley
Sent from
Source of text
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Dawson 110)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6239,” accessed on 17 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16