skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Henrietta Emma Darwin 26 July [1867]

– July 26th My dear Etty.—

You are a very good girl to wish for remaining slips of present chapter, but they are enormously altered & 10 folio pages of MS added, & the slips themselves have had to be cut into pieces & rearranged, so I will not send them.1

But for the future I shall be only too glad for you to see the slips, as well as Revises.— I will either keep, according to quantity finished, the whole of present chapter till your return, or send part to you.—

All your remarks, criticisms doubts & corrections are excellent, excellent, excellent

Yours affectly. | C. D.


Henrietta was reading the proof-sheets of Variation. She spent the second half of July visiting Devon and Cornwall; in a letter to her brother George Howard Darwin she mentioned having ‘11 pages of proof to do’ (letter to G. H. Darwin, 23 July [1867], DAR 245: 280). CD paid Henrietta £20 for correcting the proofs (Browne 2002, p. 407). On Henrietta’s contribution as editor to CD’s work, see Browne 2002, pp. 347–9.


Prefers not to send her proof-slips of the present chapter [of Variation], which has been enormously altered, but will be glad to have her see slips and revises in future.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Henrietta Emma Darwin/Henrietta Emma Litchfield
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 185: 57
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5585,” accessed on 21 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15