skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. B. Innes   5 May [1862]1

Milton Brodie—

May 5th.

Dear Darwin,

I was sorry to find by your letter that you have had so much trouble with Quiz who I hoped would have been an acquisition.2 Thanks however for the trouble and patience you have had with him and for so entirely doing as I asked you. I did not anticipate his biting humans improperly, & believed he would have at once succumbed to Tartar’s prowess, very likely as he had pluck enough to fight his temper got soured. Any how I am glad to know the end of the little animal and that he had so good a chance of a happy life had he been virtuous.

We are very sorry to hear of your boy’s indisposition. Now he is on the mend it is to be hoped he will be all right again very shortly.3 I told Stephens the other day to ask you if you have tried any of Tegetmier’s bee-hives and if you find them answer.4 The general trouble with boxes is to get them not to split and warp. There was a good straw hive made by Milton Gt Marylebon St.5 but I find by a letter from him that he has given up apiarian dealings, and he does not tell me who makes on his pattern. My views are not scientific but regard honey for which I want an improvement on the common cottage which is the only article in use here.

We are all pretty well & have real spring. The trees are in full leaf and bloom and all looking well at present. I am in much want of a good pony, which seems a hard thing to find here abouts.

Mrs. Innes6 unites with me in kindest regards to you and Mrs Darwin—

Believe me, | Dear Darwin | Faithfully Yours | J. B Innes

CD annotations

Top of first page: ‘Forres | N.Bink


The year is established by the relationship to the letter to J. B. Innes, 1 May [1862].
Innes refers to Horace Darwin.
See letter from J. B. Innes to T. S. Stephens, [before 5 May 1862] and n. 3. The reference is to William Bernhard Tegetmeier.
The reference is to John Milton, a tea-dealer and grocer of 10 Great Marylebone Street (Post Office London directory 1861).
Eliza Mary Brodie Innes.


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


About Quiz and [Horace Darwin’s] health.

Asks whether CD has tried W. B. Tegetmeier’s beehives.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Brodie Innes
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Milton Brodie
Source of text
DAR 167: 9
Physical description
4pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3534,” accessed on 10 December 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10