skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   23 [June 1855]

Down

23d

My dear Hooker

To prevent the possibility of your taking trouble in vain, I write to say I found Watsons Paper on Azores Plants1 in Lin: Socy. yesterday, & thanks & hearty thanks to your arrangement for me, I took under Sir William’s name 4 volumes home with me,—2

Adios | C. Darwin

N.B. If you want to enjoy perfect health as I do this morning eat Turtle soup on two successive days, & drink quantum suff: of Wines of all kinds.

Footnotes

Watson 1843–4 and Watson 1847. See letter to J. D. Hooker, 27 May [1855]. Some of the parts of the first paper are in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL. They are extensively annotated.
Hooker had arranged to let CD borrow books from the Linnean Society in his name and that of his father, William Jackson Hooker, because Richard Kippist, the librarian, was reluctant to allow CD to borrow more than the number permitted to CD as a fellow. See letter from J. D. Hooker, [before 17 March 1855]. CD recorded having read volumes three and six of the London Journal of Botany, which contain the final parts of Watson’s work on the Azores, in July 1855 (see Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix IV, 128: 12).

Summary

Has used borrowing rights at Linnean Society Library arranged for him by JDH.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-1702
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 114: 138
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1702,” accessed on 26 April 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-1702

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5

letter