Letter icon
Letter 1J

Darwin, C. R. to Dear Friend

4 Jan 1822

    Summary Add

  • +

    Likes Mariane who is very good to Miss Jones; CD bought cakes in town while Mariane visited Miss Jones; he was embarrassed to be shown into her bedroom when he returned. Miss Clare has had an accident.

Transcription

My Dear friend,

You must known that I am very sorry about shakespeare when Maryane, told me to put it up, and I like Mariane excessively, she is so very good to Miss Jone, I will tell you a little accident that happened to me   of course you know Miss Jones is in bed, and when I went there with Mariane last night, while she stoopped there I went in town and bought the cakes, and I came back sooner than Mariane was ready, and that foolish old man shoed in the bedroom   then there was a bit of Kick-hoop, not that I went quite in, oh no, quite the reverse

Your affectionate

Justice brust with a nose as big as your fist

PS I hope you were not much alarmed at Miss Clare accident

January 4, 1822

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 1j.f1
    The friend has not been identified. See this volume, Supplement, letter to Dear Friend, 1 January 1822, n. 1.
  • +
    f2 1j.f2
    CD refers to his sister Marianne Darwin.
  • +
    f3 1j.f3
    Possibly Martha Jones, a housemaid, who appears in Robert Waring Darwin's accounts as receiving money between 1817 and 1822 (DAR 227.5: 82, f. 51 and contents page). The local poor and sick whom Erasmus Alvey Darwin visited in 1826 included Mrs O. Jones (Correspondence vol. 1, letter from Susan Darwin, [27 March 1826]).
  • +
    f4 1j.f4
    Possibly Clare Leighton, a friend of the family (see Correspondence vol. 1, letter from Caroline and Susan Darwin, 2 [January 1826], and letter from Catherine Darwin, 15 January [1826]).
Maximized view Print letter